Altar of Betelgeuze – Among the Ruins (Stoner Doom/Death Metal)

a0976578591_10

Altar of Betelgeuze is a Finnish band which was formed in 2010 and has since released an EP and full-length album prior Among the Ruins. Their music is said to be quite special in a grey area between stoner, doom and death metal. Among the Ruins is the first time I ever listen to be the band but seeing the reviews they’ve received I am more than interested to see what they are all about.

Surely enough this is great music made by great musicians. Altar of Betelgeuze gives me a feeling of the old school Black Sabbath as much as it does with one of last years better releases Khemmis and stoner giants Electric Wizard. While I am not usually the type of guy who goes for stoner music I can’t help the fact to be taken away by the music when it’s really well made, like Khemmis last year. Among the Ruins is filled with great solos, slow paced groove, awesome clean singing from Olli “Otu” Suurmunne and equally good growling from Matias Nastolin. The more I listen to the album the more I start to get into it and headbang to this sweet music. Sometimes I really get what stoner music is all about and it’s usually with these kinds of bands that don’t go all stoner but mixes it up with other genres. It’s heavy, emotive sounding that makes you sit back, relax and submit to the music.

Altar of Betelgeuze is definitely a band I think can battle with the greats in it’s genre. Along with Khemmis they are one of the very selected few bands within the stoner sphere I am looking forward to hear more of. I like this, when bands makes me get out of my comfort zone of music and appreciate something I usually don’t. More bands and albums like this and you might even call me a stoner eventually (pun intended).

Among the Ruins is out now through Transcending Obscurity Records.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Aobofficial
Label: Transcending Obscurity Records
For fans of: Khemmis and Electric Wizard
Favorite song: Absence of Light
Score: 3/5

Leave a Reply

