The Father of Serpents – Age of Damnation (Gothic Doom/Death Metal)

a3001191272_10

From Serbia there is a new gothic doom/death act in the veins of My Dying Bride, Saturnus, Paradise Lost and Moonspell coming full speed ahead. The band consist of members from renown Serbian acts like The Hell, Tamerlan, Rain Delay and Consecration. The clean singing and narrations makes me think of Moonspell, adding the growls and guitar play that feels very much like Paradise Lost earlier work and you got yourself a good baseline for a good doom act.

Personally I’ve never been a Moonspell fan so the parts that sound very Moonspellish actually gets me hoping they had stuck more with the growls. Especially since Tamerlan’s growling reminds me a lot of Amorphis (one of my absolute favorite bands) vocalist Tomi Joutsen. None of the songs on the album really stands out for me but the opening track The Walls of No Salvation along with The Flesh Altar made up for a good start and I had a lot of hope this could be a hidden gem. Sadly Age of Damnation have a string of songs I didn’t find appealing at all up until The Afterlife Symphony with its beautiful violin play and sweet guitar solo makes it one of the highlights I take away from this album. I could definitely recommend this to goth and doom fans who likes the sound of Moonspell, but since I don’t I couldn’t really appreciate Age of Damnation that much. Together with some lack of consistency on the album makes Age of Damnation something I probably won’t get back to any time soon this year. As a debut this shows a lot of promise for the future though and I got high hopes they can make an even stronger sophomore album.

The Father of Serpents debut album Age of Damnation is out now through Satanath Records.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/thefatherofserpents
Label: Satanath Records
For fans of: Moonspell and Paradise Lost
Favorite song: The Afterlife Symphony
Score: 2/5

Leave a Reply

