White Ward – Futility Report (Post-Black Metal)

a2142312175_10

I got recommended this album from a friend a couple of weeks ago but it’s been quite far down the backlog of reviews I’ve wanted to do it has had to wait until now. I got to start with saying wow! What is this? White Ward are experimenting with and crushing boundaries of black metal as it is nothing! Saxophone in black metal? Why not? Taake has used a banjo so put that it in the genre too! The thing is it works, most of the time. The passages between traditional black, post-black and basically jazz works so well I am stunned. As this is my very first listen to the band and their music I did not think anyone really did this type of music. I mean jazz-post-black metal!?

Thing is though I do find this music a bit weird for my personal taste, due to the jazz influences. I do love the fact White Ward are doing this and I am sure it will be in many peoples album of the year lists but I would actually like this album more if it had, well less sax in it. It’s a cool thing and does make me go “wow you can do that!?” at first but after a 40 minute album I am not too sure anymore. I mean Stillborn Knowledge is a freaking great song, as are most of the songs on the album. One by one. When I listen to the whole album though I don’t get swallowed up in it like some has. Basically what I am saying is this jazz-post-black metal isn’t really my thing for a full album but I am sure I will listen to their songs every know and then for the sake of their creativity. I like my post-black metal without the jazz. A shame, I really hoped I would love this album and I feel like I should but I just don’t. Not my kind of jam, but I am still stunned with a band breaking boundaries like this, so if you’re reading this do give White Ward a try. Who knows you might come to love this type of thing.

Futility Report is out now through Debemur Morti Productions.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/whitewardofficial
Label: Debemur Morti Productions
For fans of: Ulver and Agalloch
Favorite song: Stillborn Knowledge

Leave a Reply

