Loathfinder – The Great Tired Ones (Blackened Doom Metal)

a3816349701_10

Ah it’s a good thing I got those promos from Godz ov War as not only did I get to review one of this years best releases (HerezA’s I Become Death), but I’ve also got to listen to some of last years releases I missed out and get more into the ever evolving Polish scene. Whereas Misanthropic Rage album was released last year Loathfinder’s debut EP The Great Tired One is only two months old, fresh meat so to say. Not finding much information about the band I got intrigued to see what this mystic band is all about. What I found out was rather evil.

Loathfinder plays a very chilling to the bone type of blackened doom metal that resembles the kind of profound evil that bands such as Forgotten Tomb, Lifelover, Bethlehem or even early Katatonia plays. As you probably can guess this isn’t for the weak of heart. It’s heavy down-tempo with vocals that will torment your very soul, lyrics that will leave you in horror and an atmosphere that’s so dark and vile you’re unsure how to even take this in. With four tracks and clocking on 27 minutes you’re in for a ride of twisting doom. As I said this isn’t for the weak hearted and it took me a few listens to get into (much like Misanthropic Rage did) but once I did the disorted sound, the gnarling vocals and feeling of despair got the best of me and now I can say this is a great debut.

Loathfinder is one of those albums that challenges the listener but if you dare to take up that challenge then I am sure you will come to like it. Loathfinder’s debut EP The Great Tired Ones is out now through Godz ov War Productions.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Loathfinder
Label: Godz ov War Productions
For fans of: Forgotten Tomb and Bethlehem
Favorite song: The Great Tired Ones

Leave a Reply

