Misanthropic Rage – Gates No Longer Shut (Progressive Black Metal)

a3392262559_10

My first listen to Gates No Longer Shut was an interesting one. I didn’t quite get it at first and thought it wasn’t my kind of music but it grew on me. So much that I had to listen to it again, and again, until eventually I was there. I’d joined that realm I recently saw in a horror movie called Satanic (cool idea but movie was only decent) and Misanthropic Rage had taken me there. Much like the experience I got from experimental and atmospheric black metal acts Eldjudnir and Veilburner gave me last year I find this disturbing and horrifying but yet it draws me in, one playthrough at the time.

It’s not too common I give albums a review from 2016 but this was such an interesting release I just had to share it with you. Every song feels a bit different. Be it the sense of horror, psychedelic or intense evil Misanthropic Rage gives it to you. I don’t think this is an album for everyone but if you did enjoy my reviews of Eldjudnir, Miserist and Veilburner or the more known acts that play something similar like Deathspell Omega and Dodheimsgard then this is right up your alley. Also how many times do you listen to a progressive black metal album right?

Misanthropic Rage’s full-length debut album Gates No Longer Shut is out now through Godz ov War Productions.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/misanthropicrage
Label: Godz ov War Productions
For fans of: Eldjudnir and Veilburner
Favorite song: Into the Crypt

Leave a Reply

