Svart Crown – Abreaction (Black/Death Metal)

Svart-Crown-Abreaction

Svart Crown has slowly but steady become a new favorite of mine. I didn’t know about this band until last year when I saw they were about to release a new album called Abreaction. Since then I’ve listened quite a bit to both Witnessing the Fall and Profane (yet to hear their debut Ages of Decay). Both those albums being masterpieces in their own way. Their style of black and death metal is sweet music to my ears and their song-writing is just great. So obviously I was looking forward to listen to Abreaction. Reason I waited this long to listen to it and review it is that when I start digging a band this much I can’t review an album by them. Because either I will hate it because my expectations are through the roof or I will love it more than anything else in the world simply because it’s new music by a band I like. For those reasons I’ve waited until now to review it when my expectations and honeymoon love for Svart Crown has gone down some.

After all that being said I will tell you right away though, this is awesome! It’s just as devilish and spiritual wicked that I hoped it would be. JB Le Bail is still a horrifying vocalist that will give you chills. Just as Ludovic Veyssière on bass is as good as ever. The two newcomers Kévin Paradis (Agressor, Virulent Depravity, ex-Benighted (live)) on drums and Kevin Verlay (Agressor, ex-Mors Principium Est, ex-Aborted (live)) on guitars does a great job and and adds other dimensions to Abreaction that Svart Crown’s earlier work didn’t have.

In many ways I think this is Svart Crown’s best release yet. It’s closer to the Profane sound than Witnessing the Fall but it’s not a pure copy of neither. Abreaction stands tall in a dark world where bands such as Behemoth, Azarath, Deathspell Omega and Ulcerate have released killer albums as of late. This is one of those albums you need to listen to in it’s full in order to get the full Svart Crown experience. If I had to choose some favorite songs it would be The Pact: To the Devil His Due, Khimba Rites and Nganda.

Abreaction is out now through Century Media Records.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/SVARTCROWN
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/Scrownofficial
For fans of: Behemoth and Azarath
Favorite song: The Pact: To the Devil His Due

Leave a Reply

