Argus Megere – VEII (Atmospheric Black Metal)

a0508644669_10

Haunting yet beautiful. That’s the first words that comes into my mouth when listening to Argus Megere’s fourth (three as Argus Megere, one as Argus) full-length album VEII. In all honesty I’d not heard of them before stumbling upon them when browsing through atmospheric black metal music on youtube. The band was created all the way back in 1996 as Argus before changing name to Argus Megere in 2005. This is also, to my knowledge, the very first band I listen to from Romania which I find quite cool (I’ve been meaning to go through a band from each country some day).

Close to 48 minutes long featuring four tracks that’s sure to grab your attention VEII is an album not to take lightly. While listening to it I get a lot of Moonsorrow and especially Falkenbach vibes (due to the vocals) coming from it. It’s basically good atmospheric black metal with some elements that really sticks out (the clocks ringing on Tabla as an example) and they make it mix in well together.

The guitar solo in Umbre din piatra apuse is one of my favorite parts from the whole album and it’s exactly that which makes me pick that song above the rest. Close second I would say is Tabla, yet another class track that’s sure to become many atmospheric black metal fans favorite this year. Hard choice between the two for me really.

All in all this is a good atmospheric black metal album I found today that I had to share with you guys. Argus Megere is an Romanian act more should know about that’s for sure. VEII is out now through Loud Rage Music.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/argusmegere
For fans of: Falkenbach and Moonsorrow
Favorite song: Umbre din piatra apuse

Leave a Reply

