Eldjudnir – Eldjudnir (Atmospheric Black Metal)

a3060999561_10

The selftitled album by Eldjudnir is the bands second full-length and their follow-up of Angrboða. Coming from Denmark, playing black metal and writing music for the stories from Norse Mythology this is something that is right up my alley. I mean Norse Mythology, black metal done by Scandinavians, what can go wrong?

What hits me first on Hræsvelgr is the bass play that really sticks out, add the sound of the drums and guitar then it almost sound like a diabolical jazz session. Very different but that’s also what makes Eldjudnir stand out, either you get it or you don’t. The unsettling atmosphere and eerie clean vocals fused with jazz is definitely something you have to be a fan of to experience Eldjudnir the right way. I have to say I was not sold on Eldjudnir at first but after giving the album a few listens it grew on me. This is rather complex music, unique and interesting that you need to give yourself time to understand. I find that really cool that even today you can find unique sounding bands such as Eldjudnir.

So where would I put this album? Hit or miss? Well it’s really hard to rate but I do think everyone should give this album a try. Because I am quite sure this will be an new experience for you just like it was to me.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Eldjudnir
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/Eldjudnir
For fans of: Panopticon and Ved Buens Ende
Favorite song: Gagnråd

Leave a Reply

