Enigma – Stars Misaligned (Technical Death Metal)

a3875501238_10

Having recently toured with Inanimate Existence, one of the bands I rank really high within the techdeath sphere, I knew the San Jose based band Enigma had something special to offer. I am glad I wasn’t wrong! Stars Misaligned is the debut EP from Enigma and since there is a lot of hype surrounding other new bands such as Virvum, Blade of Horus and Burial in the Sky it might be easy to miss Enigma just due to the sheer amount of good new bands coming out in 2016.

Believe me when I tell you that Enigma can easily be named in the technical death metal debut albums of the year, just as the previous named bands. Bonus note that has to be said! I think Petr Oplatka sounds a lot like The Black Dahlia Murder singer Trevor Strnad. This is only positive stuff though as Trevor is a sick vocalist and a good influence.

I really like their progressive style shredding (guitar solo on Of Vile and Bliss is just sick) and lyrical take on the album. Philosophical questions like why do we exist, views on humanity, are we in control of our own destinies and what exists out there in the universe? These lyrical themes I find really satisfying to listen to when it comes to techdeath with the more sci-fi sound that techdeath usually is and Enigma ends up making me question everything about existence. This is as good as a band within the genre can leave me feeling and I hope to see a full-length album from Enigma soon.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/enigmametal408
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/EnigmaMetal
For fans of: Inanimate Existence and The Ritual Aura
Favorite song: Of Vile and Bliss

Leave a Reply

