Shokran – Exodus (Progressive Metal)

cover1200x1200

This is the first time I ever experience Shokran and the first thing that hits me is that the sound is rather unique to me. These Russians are kind of hard for me to label into a genre since they mix so many, the band themselves call it Groove Prog Metal and I guess that’s one way to put it. Shokran mixes progressive, oriental, death, groove, djent, you name it metal. Closest I can call it is Fallujah goes Egyptian style with Nile, Born of Osiris and Black Crown Initiate or something. Still I think they differ a bit from those bands but they are definitely influenced by them.

Doesn’t matter what genre or label I put on Shokran’s album Exodus as it has hit me like a meteor. It’s simply great and offers a new sound to the metal market. This as an debut full-length album even and after replacing two band members since their EP “Supreme Truth” which came out only two years ago. Well done Shokran on going through that while also releasing one of the best metal albums of the year. You just got yourselves a new fan.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Sh0kran
For fans of: Fallujah and Black Crown Initiate
Favorite song: Praise the Stench (..Of Your Fallen Idols)

Leave a Reply

